War damage in Mariupol - Ukraine ministry of internal affairs

More sanctions on Russia

The UK and the EU have announced further sanctions on Russia – including an oil embargo and Russian media groups and individual journalists.

The UK on May 4 banned Russia’s access to production and export services from UK management consulting, accounting and PR services, and took further action to block content from RT and Sputnik social media, internet services, and apps.

The EU wants to ban all Russian oil imports by the end of the year but they have to be approved by all 27 member governments – and Hungary, Slovakia, Bulgaria and the Czech republic were resisting as they are almost entirely dependent on Russian oil.

The UK latest sanctions list includes:
Channel One, a major state-owned Russia tv channel.
Evgeny Poddubny, a war correspondent for the All-Russia State Television and Radio Broadcasting Company.
Alexander Kots, a war correspondent for Russian newspaper Komsomolskaya Pravda.
Dmitry Steshin, a Russian journalist and special correspondent for Komsomolskaya Pravda.
All Russia State Television and Radio Broadcasting, a major state-owned broadcaster.
InfoRos, a news agency alleged to have links to Russian intelligence agencies.
SouthFront, a disinformation site.
The Strategic Culture Foundation, an online journal.

UK announces new sanctions
UK bans services, media
EU wants oil ban in new sanctions
The information war over Ukraine